Lewiston Consolidated Schools School Board Meeting Minutes April 15, 2019

A regular meeting of the Lewiston School Board District 69 was held on Monday, April 15th, at 7:00 p.m. This meeting was open to the public and preceded in notice as required by law. The meeting was called to order and the Open Meetings Law acknowledged by President Aaron Rule. Roll call found the following members to be present: Husa, Janssen, Rule, Schuster, and Searcey. Excused Absent: Rinne. Also present: Rick Kentfield, Linda Thomas, Payton Bledsaw, and several visitors.

The agenda was reviewed. Moved by Searcey and seconded by Janssen "to approve the agenda as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Visitors were welcomed and shared information on cheerleader program, bike helmet online program available on News Channel Nebraska, and teachers.

Moved by Rule and seconded by Janssen "to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2019, and March 28, 2019 school board meetings as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

The treasurer's report was presented by Dennis Schuster, and Rick Kentfield presented the monthly claims, payroll, and transfers. Discussion was held. Moved by Husa and seconded by Schuster "to approve the April treasurer's report, April payroll and claims as presented in the amount of \$281,747.69." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Discussion was held regarding the Nebraska Community Foundation information.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Husa "to approve Allison West's teacher resignation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Rule. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Rule and seconded by Janssen "to approve Natalie Sisco's teacher resignation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Rule, Schuster. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Schuster and seconded by Husa "to approve Karmen Tomek's teacher resignation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Rule, Schuster, Searcey." Those opposed: Janssen. Motion carried, 4-1.

Moved by Janssen and seconded by Husa "to approve Jordan Tyo's resignation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to approve Tim Neumann's resignation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Schuster and seconded by Husa "to approve Megan Anderson's teacher contract as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Discussion was held regarding 2018-19 extended year contracts.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to approve the ESU 4 Core Services Resolution as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Rule, Schuster. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Searcey "to approve the Egan gym floor resurfacing quote in the amount of \$2,366.44." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Rule, Schuster, Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Principal Report – none at this time. Payton Bledsaw shared information on teacher resignations, Junior-Senior prom, suicide prevention program, ACT testing, and seniors preparing for graduation.

Rick Kentfield, Superintendent, discussed information on graduation program, NASB Legislative luncheon, teacher contract/salary correction, principal interview schedule, support staff employment agreements for 2019-20, Policy #6006-6008 refresher, and upcoming May board meeting items.

Board Committee Reports – none at this time.

Moved by Schuster and seconded by Husa "to adjourn at 8:55 p.m." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Next regular school board meeting will be Tuesday, May 14th, at 7:00 p.m.

Rick Kentfield Board Secretary, Dist. #69