Lewiston Consolidated Schools School Board Meeting Minutes January 15, 2018

A regular meeting of the Lewiston School Board District 69 was held on Monday, January 15th, at 7:00 p.m. This meeting was open to the public and preceded in notice as required by law. The meeting was called to order and the Open Meetings Law acknowledged by Vice President Larry Husa. Roll call found the following members to be present: Husa, Janssen, Little, and Searcey. Excused Absent: Rule and Schuster. Also present: Rick Kentfield, and three visitors.

The agenda was reviewed. Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to approve the agenda as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Searcey, and Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Visitors were welcomed and one visitor shared comments regarding the school newsletter.

Election of Officers for 2018. Aaron Rule was elected President, Larry Husa was elected Vice President, and Dennis Schuster was elected Treasurer.

It was moved by Searcey and seconded by Janssen to appoint Rick Kentfield, Secretary of the Board. Those voting in favor of said motion: Little, Searcey, Husa, and Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

It was moved by Little and seconded by Searcey to approve the December 13, 2017 regular meeting minutes as presented. Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, Janssen, and Little. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

The treasurer's report and monthly claims and payroll were presented by Rick Kentfield. Moved by Searcey and seconded by Janssen "to approve the January treasurer's report, January payroll and claims as presented in the amount of \$264,226.88." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, and Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Conflict of interest laws were reviewed and it was determined no additional conflict of interest documentation was needed for current BOE members.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to keep board committee assignments for 2018 the same as 2017". Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Searcey, and Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Moved by Janssen and seconded by Little "to approve Tonya Eubank's resignation letter". Those voting in favor of said motion: Little, Searcey, Husa and Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Searcey "to recognize the Lewiston Education Association's request to serve as the exclusive bargaining agent for the district's non-supervisory certified staff for the 2019-20 and 2020-21 contract years as long as the LEA's membership represented a majority of the district's non-supervisory certified staff". Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, and Janssen. Those opposed: none. Those abstained: Little. Motion failed, 3-0-1.

Moved by Janssen and seconded by Searcey "to approve a 12:30 PM dismissal on February 8, 2018 to host the Pawnee County Spelling Contest". Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, and Searcey. Those opposed: none. Those abstained: Little. Motion failed, 3-0-1.

No action was taken regarding board policy updates.

No Principal's report was presented; Ms. Bowen was attending the Pioneer Honor Band Concert.

Rick Kentfield, Superintendent, reported on school board election certification information, a quote from Midwest Sound and Lighting for a new microphone, a letter from Clarice Tegtmeier, and February school board meeting items.

There were no board committee reports.

Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to enter executive session at 7:57 p.m. regarding personnel." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, Janssen, and Little. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Janssen "to exit executive session at 8:12 p.m." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, and Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Moved by Janssen and seconded by Searcey "to adjourn at 8:13 p.m." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Searcey, and Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 4-0.

Next regular meeting will be Tuesday, February 13th, at 7:00 p.m.

Rick Kentfield Board Secretary, Dist. #69