Lewiston Consolidated Schools School Board Meeting Minutes July 12, 2017

A regular meeting of the Lewiston School Board District 69 was held on Wednesday, July 12th, at 7:00 p.m. This meeting was open to the public and preceded in notice as required by law. The meeting was called to order and the Open Meetings Law acknowledged by President Aaron Rule. Roll call found the following members to be present: Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, and Schuster. Absent: none. Also present: Rick Kentfield, Linda Thomas, and several visitors.

The agenda was reviewed. Moved by Little and seconded by Schuster "to approve the agenda as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Visitors were welcomed. Candidates filling school board vacancy were given an opportunity for comments. Visitor shared comments about random drug testing for students.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to enter executive session for personnel." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Schuster and seconded by Husa "to exit executive session." Those voting in favor of said motion: Little, Rule, Schuster, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Schuster "to nominate Sarah Rinne "to fill school board vacancy." Motion failed due to lack of a second nomination.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to nominate Linda Searcey to fill school board vacancy." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Husa, Janssen, Little. Those opposed: Schuster. Motion carried, 4-1-0.

Rick Kentfield, Secretary, administered the Oath of Office to Linda Searcey, new school board member.

Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to nominate Dennis Schuster for 2017 Treasurer of the Board." Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to cease nominations." Ballots by the board were cast and Dennis Schuster was elected Treasurer by a 4-2 vote.

School Board committee appointments were discussed. Committee appointments will remain the same with Linda Searcey filling current committee vacancies.

Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to approve the minutes of the June 13, 2017 regular board meeting." Those voting in favor of said motion: Schuster, Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

The treasurer's report was presented by Dennis Schuster, and Rick Kentfield presented the monthly claims and payroll. Moved by Little and seconded by Janssen "to approve the July treasurer's report, July payroll and claims as presented in the amount of \$241,270.19." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Husa "to approve Lisa Cerveny's office secretary contract for the 2017-2018 school year as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Rule and seconded by Husa "to approve the paraprofessional contracts for the 2017-2018 school year as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Rule and seconded by Husa "to approve Integrity Cleaning's contract for the 2017-2018 school year as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Schuster and seconded by Janssen "to approve Tim Lucas' Technology & Networking Coordinator contract as presented for the 2017-2018 school year." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Little. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Discussion was held regarding Pierson K-8 science curriculum.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Husa "to approve the 2017-2018 fees as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Little and seconded by Husa "to approve the district's NRCSA membership for 2017-2018 as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Adrian Bowen, Principal, shared information on student and teacher handbooks. Discussion was held. Moved by Searcey and seconded by Husa "to approve student and teacher handbooks as presented with discussed considerations." Those voting in favor of said motion: Husa, Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Rick Kentfield, Supintendent, gave an update on summer projects.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Rule "to appoint Rick Kentfield, Superintendent of Schools, as the district representative for state and federal programs including Title I and also as board secretary for the 2017-2018 school year." Those voting in favor of said motion: Janssen, Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to appoint Adrian Bowen, Principal, as Tech Prep Advisory Council member, Drug & Alcohol Advisory Council member, and Multicultural Liaison." Those voting in favor of said motion: Little, Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 6-0.

Adrian Bowen, Principal, reported on school wide behavioral program, the outstanding support she has received from teachers and staff, and Data and Dibels testing.

Rick Kentfield, Superintendent, shared information regarding LeAnn Baker's 2017-2018 contract, bus transportation pick-up procedures, distributed a handout with Open Meetings Act reminders from KSB, discussed recommendation for updating district board policies, teacher in-service agenda, and having Jeanine Anderson assist with the new secretary transition. Discussion was held regarding a school board workshop for the 2017-2018 school budget. The workshop will be held Monday, July 24th, at 6:00 p.m.

There were no board committee reports at this time.

Moved by Husa and seconded by Janssen "to adjourn at 9:12 p.m." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Schuster, Searcey, Husa, Janssen, Little. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Next regular meeting will be Tuesday, August 15th, at 7:00 p.m.

Rick Kentfield Board Secretary, Dist. #69